Answered by Yelda Mesbah Bartlett, Esq., Founder and Principal of Bartlett Law Firm.
Yes. A person may file for divorce in any U.S. state as long as one of the spouses reside there. Some states, like California, require the spouse residing in the state to have lived there a minimum of 6 months in the state (and 3 months in the county) before allowing such a lawsuit.
Other states, like Nevada, require a minimum of 6 week residency for the filing party unless the parties married there, last cohabited there, and so on.
Because these rules vary from state to state, be sure to consult an attorney within your state for more up-to-date and accurate information.